South Somerset District Council

South Somerset is a local government district in Somerset, England.  The South Somerset district covers an area of 370 square miles ranging from the borders with Devon, Wiltshire and Dorset to the edge of the Somerset Levels. It has a population of approximately 158,000. The administrative centre of the district is Yeovil. 

The district was formed on 1 April 1974, and was originally known as Yeovil, adopting its present name in 1985. It was formed by the merger of the municipal boroughs of Chard, Yeovil, along with Crewkerne and Ilminster urban districts and the Chard Rural District, Langport Rural District, Wincanton Rural District and Yeovil Rural District.  The Council covers the whole of the Yeovil constituency, and part of Somerton and Frome.

SSDC responsibilities fall into: Building and Planning, Bins and Recycling, Council Tax and Benefits, Housing, Environment and Street Care and Cleaning, and include:

  • Building Regulations

  • Car Parks

  • Council Tax and Council Tax Benefit

  • Social Housing and Housing Benefit

  • Economic Development

  • Elections

  • Food Safety and Hygiene

  • Licensing

  • Local Plans and Planning Applications

  • Markets

  • Refuse Collection

  • Sports Centres

  • Street Cleaning

  • Tree Preservation

To find out about your area: everything you need to know from bin collection dates to your local district councillor– just type in your postcode in this link.

Paying your council tax bill

South Somerset District Council (SSDC) is the council responsible for collecting Council Tax and dealing with Benefits so they are the best people for you to talk to.

There are a number of ways you can pay Council tax or get in touch about it.  This link to SSDC’s website gives you information about how to pay your Council tax bill and how to contact them.

The District Council will send you a council tax bill at the beginning of each financial year (usually mid-March) to let you know the amount you need to pay on a monthly basis.


Somerset County Council

The County Council, based in Taunton is the last tier before national government. The Council’s duties and services are managed by the 58 elected Councillors (known within the Council as Members). Its responsibilities include:

  • Education

  • Social Services: Adult, Childrens, Young people

  • Emergency Planning

  • Highways and Road Safety

  • Rights of Way

  • The Environment, Waste Disposal and Mineral Sites

  • Libraries and Museums

In Somerset there are four district councils: Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset and West Somerset; and one borough council: Taunton Deane.

Visit the Somerset County Council website –

The County also deals with floods as the Lead Local Flood Authority (LLFA) as defined by the new Flood and Water Management Act 2010 and the Flood Risk Regulations 2009. Find more information here:

Member of Parliament

Your MP, for the Parliamentary Constituency of Yeovil, is Marcus Fysh.

Constituency office
01935 314321
21-22 High Street, Yeovil, BA20 1RF

Westminster office
020 7219 4527
House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA

Marcus on Facebook

Marcus on Twitter


District Councillor
Sue Osborne is the District Councillor for Windwhistle Ward.  She can be contacted by email:

County Councillor
Linda Vijeh is the County Councillor.  Her contact details are: